>Sketch Every Day: 6.25.11 & Quick DIY Painted Sandals

>

I just scored another pair of $15 summer shoes. Yay! A couple of weeks ago, I got a cool pair of sandals at Target for $14.99…and last week I found this super cute pair of espadrilles-wedge sandals at Payless. They were originally $26.99, but on sale for $14.99. They’re very sweet and pretty, with a light-buttery-yellow canvas and adorable, striped-fabric bow embellishment. But when I got home, I realized I really didn’t have anything light and airy or summery enough to wear with them…which means I would need to go out and buy an outfit (and that kind of defeats the purpose of getting a deal on shoes). Besides, I’m not really a pastel and soft, light colors kind of gal. 


If you’ve seen some of my Pinterest pins, you’ll notice that I have an obsession with mustard yellows (especially combined with navy, fuschia, gray or camel/brown). So, I decided to paint the espadrilles the yellow color that is more “me.” I already have the paint (understatement)…and well, if I screwed it up…I could just paint over it…no biggie, they’re $15 (yeah, so I’ll refrain from three lattes and we’ll call it even).  


At first, I thought I’d do some crazy pattern, maybe some retro-mod geometric in teal over the mustard yellow. But I don’t have time for all that (I always have work to do, a business to run, and wedding deadlines right now are crazy), so I just wanted a quick fix. I figured I’d make a “stencil” using one of my decorative paper punches. I have this really lovely scalloped-edge-lace-eyelet patterned punch by Martha Stewart that I found randomly at Marshall’s a couple of years ago (I think it was $3). I’ve barely used it, so I thought…sure why not?

Materials: Tulip brand matte, soft fabric paint in Gold Tan, paint brush, a Martha Stewart decorative edge paper punch, some cardstock and tape.

To make the “stencil” I punched some scrap pieces of metallic cardstock (metallic or glossy stocks work great for this type of small-scale stenciling since it resists absorption of water or paint a little better than matte).

Using a clothespin to pin up the bow, I painted on the fabric paint.
The paint needs to dry for a little bit (4 hours is recommended, but I only waited about 30 min….til it was dry to the touch), and then…
…I taped on the stencil and filled in with white paint (using a small brush) and outlined the shape of the stencil.

I cleaned up some of the lines and added dots using a tiny brush…using a fabric pen or squeezing on dots with a fine tipped applicator of 3D or puffy fabric paint would probably work nicely).
Done! So cute and unique…more “me”…
I’m thinking I may change the bow color…hmmmm, maybe teal or turquoise would be fun.  We’ll see.
I always let the kids use my leftover paints…no paint gets wasted around here!

Check out these beautiful tulips I spied at Trader Joe’s last night.  A mauve-coral pink with mustard yellow…so different!  Told you I’m lovin’ mustard yellow right now!
This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Color, DIY, Fun Stuff, Just Because, Paint, random projects, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Sketch Every Day: 6.25.11 & Quick DIY Painted Sandals

  1. Brandie says:

    >I would have never even thought to do that! You're so talented and the shoes look so much cuter now!

Leave a Reply

