>Sketch Every Day: 6.15.11

>

I’ve been wanting to re-do our laundry room for some time now…have it all planned out in my mind, know (almost) exactly what I’d like to do. But I realize, it’s just a laundry room after all…no one really goes in there or sees it. Besides washing out my paint brushes, grabbing the kids some craft supplies, or throwing in a load of laundry…it’s not like we spend any amount of time in there. We usually fold the clothes on the couch in the family room while watching television. And I have LOADS (excuse the pun) of other projects (some started and unfinished) that would indeed take priority over a frivolously decorated (albeit fabulous) laundry room.

But it looks as though I might be getting to the laundry room re-do a little sooner than I thought. Last night started off like a typical Tuesday night: I was up working on invitation proofs late into the night, but decided to shut down the computer early (around 11:45 p.m.), because I was tired from a day of painting and thought I’d call it a night. My husband was downstairs finishing up some things, including a load of laundry, so I got into bed and turned on one of my recorded shows to fall asleep to. Just as I was dozing off, I heard Aaron yelling for me, followed by a few expletives. I knew something serious was up because my husband is not a “yeller”…plus it was almost midnight and the kids were in their beds asleep. I jumped out of bed and ran downstairs shouting, “what’s wrong…what’s going on?”  

And then I stepped into the puddle…actually it was more like a river…of water flowing from the flooded laundry room to our living room (which is actually the kids’ playroom), all over the beautiful hardwood floors, seeping under our baseboards, under the kids’ toy bins, the wooden coffee table and Indonesian carved bench, and almost to the piano and some planters I’ve been working on for a client. Thankfully, it only flooded half of the room…but it was A LOT of water. So Aaron and I got busy, he turned off the water to the washer and used the wet/dry Shop Vac to suck up as much water, as quickly as possible.  I ran and grabbed every towel I could get my hands on to try and soak up some of the water and create a barrier so it wouldn’t flow any further. I moved all the toys and things off the floor and used a mop to push the water off the hardwood and onto the tile. It took about an hour and a half, but we were able to get rid of all the water and dry up as much as possible. I don’t think the floors have ever been cleaner!

We did notice a bit of seepage from the living room, under the baseboards, to the dividing wall behind the entertainment unit in the family room. We moved the television out and saw that the concrete foundation/sub-floor was wet and there was a thin line of moisture on the drywall behind the unit. So we put a fan there to try and dry it out. We finally called it a night at 2:30 a.m., there was not much more we could do.

So, my husband’s been checking out Craigslist and a few appliance outlets to see if he can find a deal on a new washer. I mentioned about three or four months ago that it was time to replace our 10 year old washer and dryer…and that I really wanted a snazzy-new red set. So when he mentioned what he found, all I could say was…”but is it red?”  I figure, if we’re going to do this, we need to go all out and do it right. Plus, these new washer/dryers are all more energy/cost efficient, right? But of course, Aaron has somehow “fixed” the washer and it seems to be working fine now…he was able to do a few loads without any issues. So we’ll see. I do have my heart set on the red ones, and I was kinda hoping to have an excuse to re-do the laundry room. I did a sketch of what I’m envisioning:

1. Paint the walls in a teal or grayish aqua-blue (but a little on the darker side).

2. Stencil the walls using the Florentine Damask stencil  (by Royal Design Studio) that I already have from client projects….using a metallic champagne glaze.

3. Hang up the antique window pane that I rent out to clients for wedding seating charts (need some place to store it when it’s not in use).

4. Paint a mural on canvas (I’m thinking I’d like to start with a narrow scene of a Venetian Canal with a cliché clothesline of laundry hanging from one building to another across the canal).

5. The mural would be mounted behind the window pane so that it looks as though you’re looking out the window onto the scene. I could paint other canvases with different themes so that the scene is interchangeable.

6. A funky, cool, kinda blingy light fixture to replace the recessed bulb in the ceiling…but not a chandelier because my husband is 6’6″ and I could see that being a big pain.

7. And of course, the gorgeous and shiny, vividly deep red washer and dryer. It is my favorite color. Some people want a flashy red sports car, I just want to see this candy apple fabulousness in my laundry room. 

A girl can only hope…. 


Oh….and for today’s kiddo sketch, check out how amazing my niece, PJ, is at drawing her dogs, Macy and Zoe! She just keeps getting better every day!





This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Just Because, One Project A Weekend, Paint, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 6.15.11

  1. >you are an excellent artist! Ive been taking Alisa Burkes Sketchbook delight class. Im hoping with practise i will improve!Clairehttp://www.hearthandmade.co.uk

  2. Anonymous says:

    >All I can say Katie is that you really know how take lemons that life hands you and make lemonade. Get a "new" washer and dryer as you don't want someone else's problem. We got our Maytag pair at Sears about eight years ago. I won't say that we know what you're going through but we sort of do having had a pipe burst and a hot water heater start leaking, all in the same month. Love you!

  3. >What a story – oh, I feel for you! I love your vision for the Laundry Room, too. I had to laugh because I have my eye on the burnt orange ones (though the red are spectacular, too) and it would be the exact same scenario: "…but are they orange?". 🙂

  4. EITAKdesign says:

    >@ Claire – Thank you for your nice comment…I'm hoping with daily practice, I can hone my drawing skills…that's why I started this 365 project. Keep sketching!@ Dad – Love you, too!@ Regina – I do love the burnt orange ones, too…red's just always been my favorite color. Remember your post about red walls and your mention of red shoes? Yeah, I've always had a thing for red "pairs"…first shoes, now a washer/dryer. 😉

Leave a Reply

