>Sketch Every Day: 5.7.11 and 5.8.11

>

It has been an awesome weekend, so I decided to combine yesterday and today’s sketches into one post. 

Saturday, May 7th:  The PRINCE Concert

I didn’t have a chance to post last night’s sketch for a couple of reasons. 1. I did the sketch en route to the PRINCE concert at the Forum in L.A….in the van ride up. 2. I didn’t have much light in the van to photograph and post the sketch via Blogpress on my iphone. 3. I was at the PRINCE concert, people!  We didn’t get home til almost 3 a.m….can you blame me?

I pasted some of the purple confetti from the concert (blasted during “Purple Rain”) onto the page.
I must add that the sketch was quickly done whilst in a moving vehicle, with the only pen I had in my purse and some eyeshadow and lipstick from my make-up bag. Also, since we were partying like it was 1999, I was a few drinks in by the time I remembered that I hadn’t done a sketch for the day.  Luckily, I always carry my sketchbook in my purse.

Esperanza Spalding opened for PRINCE. She’s amazingly talented and rockin’ the coolest ‘fro.
We had great seats, thanks to Clark and Irene!
Wild! What an awesome concert…we had a such a fun night!
The symbol stage after the concert.
The concert was AMAZING….and a total surprise!!! All I knew going into Saturday night was that we had to be at our good friends Clark and Irene’s home by 5:30 p.m., dressed for a night on the town. I had no clue what we would be doing, where we would be going. We gathered with some of our closest friends/neighbors and Clark announced that he had planned and arranged for all of us to be driven up to L.A. to see PRINCE…and I just flipped out! I couldn’t believe it! I was already excited for a night out and would have been thrilled to just go out to dinner and dancing with my friends. I never in a million years could have imagined such a fantastic surprise!  I’ve always loved Prince’s music and have wanted to see him in concert. He’s one of the greats, a legend, an icon…like Michael Jackson (who I have seen in concert…Taipei, Taiwan in 1993) or Madonna. So it would be epic to see him live on stage. And now I have!  HUGE thanks to Clark and Irene for their generosity and the fabulous surprise. We love you guys…you’re awesome!  I still can’t believe it!

Sunday, May 8th:  Mother’s Day

Going to bed at 3 a.m. following the Prince concert, I wasn’t sure how my Mother’s Day was going to pan out…would I be groggy, hungover, tired, cranky, exhausted? Even though Isaac came into my room to try and wake me up at around 7 a.m., I was somehow able to ignore him and got a few more hours of sleep.  Around 9:30 a.m., I made my way downstairs to find my husband and kids making me a wonderful Mother’s Day breakfast. Their intention was to bring it to me on a tray with flowers, in bed.  But I came downstairs too soon. It was still a lovely surprise and a delicious breakfast. 
Heart-shaped cinnamon bread French toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscotti and coffee.
I also received a pretty bouquet of flowers and a box of chocolate truffles.
Mason made me a beautiful card at school, with a plant in a decorated gift bag.
Mason painted the pot at school. 
 Mother’s Day just got better and better. My family came over for a delicious BBQ. We had all the Moms under one roof again, with exception to my mom-in-law, Nana Sue (we miss her, but we’ll celebrate Mother’s Day with her next weekend when we head up to San Francisco). My mom is here from Taiwan, my brother-in-law Charlie’s Mom (Jo Ann) and Aunt (CeCe), my brother-in-law Mark’s mom (Imelda), my sisters (Mary and Julie), and me…that’s seven Moms! With all the kids/cousins (Tyan, Maylie, Mason, Paige, Isaac), my husband (Aaron), brother-in-laws (Mark, Charlie, Jay), and our dear friends (Jeff and Allison, who are our family)…it was quite a party! As usual, we had a crazy amount of scrumptious food, played some games, and just had a fun time enjoying our family, celebrating Moms. It was such a great weekend, I couldn’t be happier. Since we Moms all received some beautiful flowers, my sketch today is of the floral bouquets.
 And here are some pictures of my terrific Mother’s Day that I wanted to share…
The kids made us a few banners.
This one features all the Moms.

My husband made bacon-wrapped scallops.
The spread…
Dessert!
Jeff made the most decadent brownies with candied bacon-infused chocolate ganache.

My new orchid plant.
My Mother’s Day bouquet.
Maylie made us the most amazing, pop up paper crafted cards!
The card Mason made for me.
The card Isaac made for me.
 


This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Fun Stuff, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 5.7.11 and 5.8.11

  1. Kristalyne says:

    >hi katie. i found your blog through one of your emails from school, and i love it. i just wanted to say what an amazing artist and mother you are! i love checking in on your sketches, and i love seeing mason's too. i think jayce and i are going to start doing a sketch a day together! thank you for the inspiration, and thank you for all of the time you spend teaching art to those wonderful kiddos at school. you are amazing! ~kristalyne, jayce's mom

  2. EITAKdesign says:

    >Thank you, Kristalyne, for your sweet comment! It is such a joy to see the artwork that Jayce creates in class. He is very gifted and such a kind, well-behaved and terrific kid! I'm so glad to hear that you and Jayce will be sketching together…it's so wonderful to experience the creative process with children, I learn so much from them! I hope you'll share some of the sketches with me, I'd love to see what you and Jayce come up with.

Leave a Reply

