>Sketch Every Day: 4.17.11

>

Having that extra bit of sunlight in the afternoons/early evenings (not to mention, the wonderfully warm weather we’ve been having in San Diego), reminds me of those summer days as a little kid when all I wanted to do (before it was time to come in for dinner), was ride my bike around the neighborhood with my friends. Sometimes the bikes were interchangeable with roller skates or skateboards, but there was just something about it…of having a set of “wheels” and rolling around the block, feeling the wind in my hair and the occasional cool breeze (if I happened to be riding downhill or pedaled a little faster), and knowing I had my own way of getting from point A to B (and that I was self sufficient in doing so)…well, it was a feeling of freedom and independence. Of course, I never wandered too far from my block…but in my mind, I knew if I wanted to, it would be a cinch to get to the 7-Eleven and back before the sun went down, and I could ride my bike all the way home, one-handed, with a refreshing, dinner-spoiling cherry and coke mixed Slurpee.  Now THAT would be cool!


The first bike I remember was a yellow Huffy with a banana seat and streamers on the handle-bars. My next bike was a red retro Schwinn that my dad bought at a neighborhood garage sale. My four year-old, Isaac, learned how to ride a bike (no training wheels) a couple of months ago and I can see that he’s got that “feeling” too. We now spend a lot of afternoons watching him ride his bike up and down the street, enjoying that “feeling” of freedom and independence. 


I found this drawing by PJ this morning.  It looks like she was getting ready to write a story or draw a cartoon.  She had drawn little boxes on a sheet of paper and this was in one of the boxes: “Oh no! I stept in a putle, ip leest it’s not a massiv putle.”  I’m very impressed that she knew to put the apostrophe in “it’s” and that she used the word “massive”…

This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 4.17.11

  1. Halle says:

    >I love all of your daily sketches! And you've inspired me to start sketching daily again 🙂 Love your blog and I show all of your designs to all my friends. Keep making the world a little more beautiful girl!

  2. EITAKdesign says:

    >Thanks for checking out my blog and for the sweet comment, Halle! Sketching every day is something I look forward to (can't believe it took me so long to get back into it). I find inspiration in every thing and every one around me…so just to know that I've inspired someone else in any way brings me the greatest joy and keeps me motivated. Keep up the sketching!

Leave a Reply

