>Sketch Every Day: 4.1.11

>

Only because it’s April Fools’ Day, I couldn’t resist sketching Mr. T (I always think of his famous line, “I pity the fool” when I hear the word “fool”).

Here’s the catch, for today’s sketch, I played a trick on myself. I forced myself to draw with my right hand. Technically, I’m Penwald ambidextrous, which means that I have learned ambidexterity. Some studies show that only about 10% of the world population is left-handed, so many things cater to right-handed people. Lefties have to adapt and cultivate ambidexterity. As a child, my mom wasn’t comfortable showing me how to write Chinese characters for my left-handedness, so she forced me to write Chinese with my right hand. And so now…I’m ambidextrous. 

I certainly favor my left hand for drawing, writing and detailed painting. But I can paint and do finishes with either hand. I use scissors with my right hand, but if you were to ask me which hand I use to hold a fork, throw a ball/catch, etc….I’m just as comfortable with either. 

So here’s how I sketch, out of my comfort zone, using my right hand. I could definitely use some practice…my lettering and hand-writing is terrible! I do feel kind of “foolish” putting this out there.


My mom-in-law came to town for a visit today. We’re all so happy to have her here. She’s wonderful, amazing, fun, helpful, generous and loving. My boys absolutely adore their Nana! Tonight, Mason and Nana sketched together. I love how they both colored their houses yellow (totally by coincidence)! But I mostly love that they spent this time together, sketching.

Mason’s house.

Nana’s house.



This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Fun Stuff, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

