>Sketch Every Day: 3.30.11

>

While waiting at a stoplight on the way home this evening, I heard a commercial on the radio for Denny’s new Maple Bacon Sundae.  WHAT?!!! Could it be true? Had someone answered my call for MORE BACON infused desserts? After realizing that the light had turned green and cars behind were honking at me…I began to think that it may be worth a trip to Denny’s to try out this bacon-lovers delight, the perfect combination of salty-sweet. I can’t even remember the last time I ate at a Denny’s.  I recall many late nights after dancing, two a.m. trips for Moons Over My Hammy, a slice of apple pie a la mode, a Mug ‘O Coffee, and the appetizer sampler in all it’s greasy-fried-crunchy badness. But the last time I can really remember was during my pregnancy with Mason, when my cravings set me over the edge and I forced my sisters to accompany me (close to midnight) to Denny’s for all the salty-sweet-fried-goodness I could throw down. Believe me, I have quite an appetite…and the “eating for two” excuse meant that I didn’t have to justify myself to anyone. Bring it on! 

Well, hello there gorgeous!  From Denny’s Baconalia Menu.
I’m no stranger to the idea of combining bacon with sweet stuff. Like most bacon aficionados I know, I always sop up maple syrup with my bacon when I have pancakes. I buy maple bars at the donut shop and lay a nice, crunchy piece or two of smoky bacon right on top…breakfast of champions. Add a nice cup of coffee to that and all’s right in my world. And the last time I brought dessert to our neighborhood “Girl’s Night”, my bacon drizzled and dipped in Cost Plus World Market’s Chipotle Chili Dark Chocolate was a hit…salty-sweet-spicy. I’m dying to try a recipe I saw online for French Toast Cupcakes with Maple Syrup Frosting and Bacon “Sprinkles”…heavenly.

So tonight, my sketch is quite simply….BACON.  Now if I had a little more time (and if I had thought about it ahead of time, I might have done tonight’s drawing with chocolate syrup and bacon grease…but then I might be licking the page, which wouldn’t be very pretty.  Geez, I’m kinda hungry now.


While I fried up this quick (just a couple of minutes) sketch of bacon, Mason and my nephew, Tyan, did their own sketches.

Tyan (14): A message in a bottle, “Never Give Up Hope.”

Mason (6): “Schoolhouse.”




This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

