>Sketch Every Day: 3.22.11

>

Thai sweet coconut sticky rice with mango dessert after dinner tonight (at Kinaly Thai with my sister, brother-in-law, and niece) has me thinking about summer fruit. I know spring has just sprung, but we’re still experiencing rain and a bit of a chill here in San Diego. And even though the whole “April showers bring May flowers” thing is right around the corner, I can’t help but feel the urge to fast-forward to summer, if only to taste the fruits of the season. Most yellow and orange fruits (mango, peach, papaya, pineapple, tangerines, persimmon) are my favorites, but strawberries always have me thinking about summertime. 



Tonight after homework, the boys and I sketched together.  While I worked on my quick watercolor sketch of a strawberry, the boys concentrated on their own drawings. Seriously, you could hear a pin drop…hmmmm, maybe this is what I should have them do when I need some peace and quiet!

Mason starts his sketch in pencil…
…then adds some watercolor accents…

Isaac (4) painted on the back of a junk mail envelope…
He has an interesting way of holding the brush…kinda reminds me of Chinese calligraphy/brush painting.
Isaac’s completed watercolor painting.

This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

