>Sketch Every Day: 3.12.11

>

In honor of Mason’s feature on Skull-A-Day (the blog/website that inspired me to start this 365 project), today I drew a skull.


Mason and I were SO thrilled to see his sketches pop up on the Skull-A-Day blog today. When I emailed Noah Scalin of Skull-A-Day and 365: Make Something Every Day and Change Your Life, I wanted to let him know how much Mason loves his blog and shares his affinity for skulls. I also wanted to let him know how his 365 project inspired me to start my own. I was surprised when Noah replied (the same day) to thank us for sharing Mason’s story…and to say they’d love to feature Mason’s skulls on the site! I didn’t realize they would share the few random sketches I had snapped with my iphone. I’ve been working on gathering Mason’s collection of skull sketches for the past few weeks when I’ve had a spare moment. I have boxes and boxes of saved artwork to go through and have been photographing all the skulls I could find from as far back as when he could first pick up a pencil to draw.  Skulls have been his favorite drawing subject for as long as I can remember. I plan to submit his body of work (which is quite extensive for a six year-old) as soon as I can so they can see how much Mason truly loves skulls. And it’s quite interesting to see the progression of his drawings from the past years.


In the meantime, we’re just so excited to have Mason’s story mentioned on Skull-A-Day. Ever since we first started following this blog, Mason has asked me, “Mom, what’s the skull of the day today?” He loves seeing what skulls others have created. His favorite to date is Noah’s sushi skull (sushi is one of his favorite foods). Imagine how incredibly happy it made him this morning to find out that the skull of the day…was HIS!
This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 3.12.11

  1. Anonymous says:

    >How wonderful for Mason to see his work on a blog and to know the guys thinks his drawings are cool! Love, Nana

  2. Anonymous says:

    >Just went through all your's and Mason's sketch every day. Mason's work is really great and congratulations on making it to a skull blog! That is very cool. Enjoyed all the sketches and will try to keep up with them. Love Aunt Booie

Leave a Reply

