>Sketch Every Day: 2.27.11

>

I love watching the Oscars…it’s like my Super Bowl. But, having two young boys and a busy work schedule, I rarely get to go out to the movies. Of the ones in this year’s Academy Awards Best Picture category, I’ve seen Inception and Toy Story 3. Even though I haven’t seen most of the movies nominated this year, there’s something about the Oscars that has me absolutely captivated. Maybe it’s the glamorous stars and the fashion of the Red Carpet; or the moving speeches of artists who are being recognized for their work; or the thrill of seeing so many visionaries, artists, creative minds and experts together under one roof, celebrating the magic that is movie making. Whatever it is, I’m totally into it. You know how people have or go to Super Bowl parties, even though their teams aren’t playing that year? Yeah, that’s me with the Oscars.  I really want to have an Oscars-themed party one year…with cleverly named appetizers and cocktails, and guests dressed as their favorite award winning actor/actress or character from a nominated movie.  That would be so fun!

My favorite awards are the ones for Art Direction, Costume Design, Makeup, Visual Effects, and Animated Feature. I am blown away when I see the designers’ sketches, and when they are shown side-by-side to the end product of the film. It truly is magical. 

I haven’t seen The King’s Speech, but based on the few glimpses I’ve caught from trailers and previews, I know I MUST see it…not only because I’ve heard it’s a great story, but the set decoration and costuming alone looks amazing. There’s a fantastic wall finish in one of the scenes that I know I could spend hours just rewinding and examining. So perhaps I’ll do a sketch of it in the future when I have a chance to watch the film.

But for today’s sketch, I decided to draw my favorite dress of the night…an absolutely dreamy and romantic Elie Saab Haute Couture lavender chiffon gown with tiered lace details, worn by Mila Kunis.

Mason’s been making books lately.  This is the cover page…I’m not sure what the book is about or what the colorful drawing is…but I like the design.
“Wuts Gowen On…Nuthen.”  He could work for the marketing dept. at Chick-Fil-A.  LOL!





This entry was posted in Blog Series, Just Because, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 2.27.11

  1. >Katie- love your sketch today (well I love all of them) but I feel like commenting today because I am the same way about the Oscars and always have been. Our moving truck just got here today and the TV's were the last to get hooked up. The tiny garage tv @ 4pm, the guest room (made an excuse to be unpacking there before the kitche), then the office and finally the family room. It all felt very fragmented but at least I get to watch most of it and then the recaps. Anyway, I want to come by and visit with you soon! xoxo, Melissa

  2. Chris says:

    >I whole heartedly agree that Mila Kunis looked amazing! Oh, that is what you were saying when you said you liked her dress right? :o)Btw, great sketch of the dress.Natalie Portman looked amazing too.You must, must see King's Speech, Black Swan and The Social Network. True Grit is really good too if you like westerns.

  3. EITAKdesign says:

    >Welcome home, Melissa! Now that you're back in the 'hood, we may have to plan an Oscars party for next year! How fun would that be! Can't wait to visit with you!I must admit, I wasn't really that impressed with the hosting (I prefer Alec Baldwin), but overall I really enjoy watching how a big production like that comes together. And everyone was stunning!Chris – I totally agree with you. I think Mila and Natalie are gorgeous and I'm a big fan. I wouldn't have picked lavender for myself, but when I saw how perfect it was for Mila's coloring…I definitely reconsidered. I'd love to wear a dress like that (and have some place to wear it to). And all the movies on this year's list are on my must-sees…I just have to wait for them to come out on DVD. 😦

  4. >Yes! I loved this dress!!! I also loved Halle Berry's dress!

Leave a Reply

