>Sketch Every Day: 2.1.11

>

Ah yes, the stair riser project. Over seven years ago, we ripped up the carpet on our stairs and had a contractor come in and install wood steps. We didn’t want all wood on the stair risers, and we didn’t want them just a solid painted color. And since we don’t really have a foyer, I wanted the stairs to have a “wow” factor (think Spanish Steps in Rome).  I got the bright idea to hand paint tiles for the stair risers (especially once I saw how much the Italian and Spanish hand-painted tiles were).  

Anyway, more to come in a future post for my One Project A Weekend series.  But in the meantime, I was inspired to sketch some tile designs.  I really hope to find some time this year to get to work on this project.   16 steps, 7 tiles per step, 4 different designs.   Hmmmm, I might need a month or two off from work!


This is an oil pastel sketch by Mason.  I forgot to ask him what it’s about.  I just like how it looks.  Looks like it was done over a piece of corrugated cardboard?  


This entry was posted in About Me, Blog Series, Home Decor, One Project A Weekend, Paint, Sketch Every Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Sketch Every Day: 2.1.11

  1. design blog says:

    >You made some very good points there. I searched this subject and found out that many people will agree with your web site.

  2. Mary =) says:

    >When you do get a chance to do it, I know it will be amazing!

Leave a Reply

